In 1899, the architect James Knox Taylor designed the building known as The Bristol Post Office and Custom House. The building was constructed in the Beaux Arts style of architecture and opened in 1901. Its features include brick quoining, elaborate cut-stone cornices at the roof line, original cold-steel wrought iron pieces, and finely detailed leaded-glass windows, hand-carved oak and marbled interiors. The building served as Bristol, Tennessee’s main postal facility until 1983 and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on November 7, 1985.
A 1911 addition doubled the square footage of the basement and first floor for mail sorting and the design also followed the Beaux Arts style of architecture. A final addition for an enclosed shipping and receiving area was completed in 1936.
After passing through the hands of several private owners, the building, in disrepair and great need of restoration, failed to sell at auction in May of 1999. Then, Joe and Cindy Gregory stepped forward to acquire the building and save it from permanent decline. In 1999, Joe and Cindy Gregory began an impressive 3 million dollar restoration project to return the building to its’ former glory. Distinctive features restored, in addition to those mentioned above, included all exterior windows, doors, lighting and site work, all interior lighting, floors, ceilings and wall and all special items of ornate detail. Especially distinctive features include 2 story high, 2nd floor windows and ballroom, original terrazzo flooring in the main lobby area, grand open stairwell, interior leaded-glass skylights, balcony library and exquisite meeting spaces. Additions included a rear terrace, unique fireplace, detailed paneling, flooring and separate meditation garden area with fountain. The building was planned as an adaptive re-use project and now serves as the offices of Joe and Cindy Gregory and family.